Report of the Secretary presented at the 59th Annual General Body Meeting of the Society and National Symposium on "Plant Pathogens: Exploitation and Management" held at R.D. University, Jabalpur (M.P.), January 16-18, 2007

I heartily welcome Prof. L.V. Gangawane, President of the Society and Dr. Amerika Singh, President-elect of the IPS. It is indeed my proud privilege to welcome all the members of Executive Council of Indian Phytopathological Society for the year 2006 who have shown their keen interest in the affairs of the Society and have taken trouble to come over here to attend this EC meeting.

I am happy to inform the house that all the issues of Vol. **59**: 2006 have been printed and dispatched to the members and first issue of 2007 Vol. **60** is in press. The efforts for enhancement of accreditation rank of the journal is in process.

The Society has 1712 members on its roll, which includes 224 Annual Members, 1336 Life Members and 152 Subscribers.

Mundkur Memorial Lecture Award (2007)

The name of **Prof. C. Manoharachary**, Hyderabad for this award has been recommended by the Screening Committee and approved by the EC.

M.S. Pavgi Memorial Lecture Award (2007)

The name of **Prof. A.S. Kapoor**, Palampur for the award has been recommended by the Screening Committee and approved by the EC.

Dr. K.C. Mehta and Manoranjan Mitra Memorial Award (2006)

The name of **Dr. A.H. Rajasab**, Gulbarga for the award has been recommended by the Screening Committee and approved by the EC.

Fellow of Indian Phytopathological Society (FPSI) 2006

Out of seven nominations received the Screening Committee has recommended the following names

for Fellow of Indian Phytopathological Society (FPSI) 2006

- (i) Dr. J. Kannaiyan, Chennai
- (ii) Dr. B.P. Kurundkar, Mahabaleshwar
- (iii) Dr. Paran Boruah, RRL, Jorhat
- (iv) Dr. M.S. Kulkarni, UAS, Belgaum, (Karnataka)

Prof. M.J. Narasimahan Academic Merit Award Contest (2006)

The Judging Committee has recommended the name of Mr. P.N. Sivalingam, New Delhi for this award on the paper entitled "Diversity and role of DNA β associated with tomato leaf curl disease (TomLCD) in India".

Dr. K.P.V. Menon Best Poster Paper Award (2006)

The Judging Committee has recommended the name of Ms. Rekha Shukla for her Poster entitled "Evaluation of Herbicidal efficacy of Sclerotium rolfsii against Parthenium hysterophorus" for this award.

I am happy to inform the house that the six Zonal Chapters of the Society actively organized symposia on different themes at their respective Zonal Meetings on important aspects of Plant Pathology. I congratulate Zonal Presidents and Councillors for their activities and sincere efforts.

In this National Symposium on "Plant Pathogens: Exploitation and Management" 450 papers have been received for presentation. 25 invited speakers, 30 oral lecture and 395 posters were presented on the theme of symposium.

Detailed discussions were held in the E.C. Meeting and following decisions were taken for

approval of GB.

- (i) Appropriate representation to lady scientists be given in all the sub-committees.
- (ii) (a) Procedure for evaluating M.J. Narasimhan Best Research Paper Award procedure has been modified: it will be based on the weightage assigned by each referees and editorial member of the respective discipline
 - (b) For the back volumes 57 (2004) & 58 (2005) the evaluation will be done by editor and editorial members of the respective discipline.
- (iii) Two new awards viz. Prof. M.K. Patel Memorial Young Scientist Award and Prof. J.F. Dastur Memorial Award will be instituted w.e.f. 2007-08. The guidelines will be provided to Executive alongwith the nomination proforma.
- (iv) The Society has in principle agreed for following new award proposals.
 - (a) (i) Prof. A.K. Sarbhoy Memorial Award
 - (ii) Prof. J.P. Verma Memorial Award

These awards will be implemented only after the receipt of endowment amount. Some of these new awards will henceforth be delivered by the awardee in their respective zone.

- (b) Prof. S.P. Raychaudhary Memorial Award A brochure containing guidelines of all the awards will be broughtout on receipt of report from the committee setup for the purpose earlier.
- (v) Processing charge of Rs. 100/- per printed page of research paper published in the journal will be chargeable. This proceed will be used to engage a professional proof reader for improvement of the journal.
- (vi) Prof. S.M. Paul Khurana, Vice Chancellor, R.D. University, Jabalpur has been nominated as Advisory board member of the Society.

Executive Council (2007)

As per the result declared the Executive Council for the year 2007 will be as follows:

President: Amerika Singh, President-Elect: S.S. Chahal; Secretary: S.C. Chatterjee; Joint Secretary: U.D. Singh; Treasurer: Pratibha Sharma

Zonal Chapters (2007)

Delhi Zonal President	Usha Dev	Elected
Zonal Councillor		Lioutou
Northern		nilantii
Zonal President	J.N. Sharma	Elected
Zonal Councillor	A.K. Gupta	
Southern		
Zonal President	S.R. Niranjana	Elected
Zonal Councillor	S. Umesha	
Eastern		
Zonal President	and the same of th	Nominated
	Ph. Sobita Devi	
Central		
Zonal President	B.S. Rathore	Nominated
Zonal Councillor	Ritu Mawar	
Western		
Zonal President		Nominated
Zonal Councillor	S.B. Mahajan	
Mid-Eastern	The Calculation According	
Zonal President	•	Nominated
Zonal Councillor	Kiran Singh	

On behalf of the Society, I thankfully acknowledge the grant of enhanced Financial Assistance by Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi. of Rs. 1,20,000/- (Rupees One Lakh twenty thousand) for publication of the journal and Rs. 2.24 Lakh to organize National Symposium at Siliguri.

I also express my sincere gratitude to Prof. L.V. Gangawane, President of the Society for his guidance, advice, encouragement and support in day-to-day functioning of the Society. I thank very profusely Prof. S.M. Paul Khurana, Vice-Chancellor, Prof. S.P. Gautam, Prof. Jamaluddin and Prof. A.K. Pandey, Chairman, Co-Chairman and Local Oraganizing Secretary, Convenors, chairmans and rapportuers of various technical sessions and organizing sub-committees for their wholehearted support in making this 59th Annual Meeting and National Symposium a grand success. My thanks are also due to all the staff members and students for rendering their valuable help in various ways for making the meeting a grand success. It is my prime duty to thank all the members of E.C. for their cooperation, advice, support and suggestions in various activities of the Society. Last but not the least, I am thankful to staff at the Headquarters of IPS for infrastructural support.

> (S.C. Chatterjee) Secretary